Nurses Award [MA000034]

Who the Nurses Award covers

The Nurses Award covers:

  • employers and their employees in the health industry
  • employers who employ nurses and midwifes.

The health industry means employers who provide health and medical services, and employ nurses and their assistants to deliver nursing care and services.

Examples of employees covered by the Nurses Award:

  • nursing assistants
  • enrolled nurses
  • student enrolled nurses
  • registered nurses
  • nurse practitioners
  • occupational health nurses.

The Nurses Award also covers labour hire businesses and their employees who are placed with the health industry as a nurse or midwife.

Check the award for full information on who is covered and the classification descriptions.

Source reference: Nurses Award [MA000034] clauses 3, 4 and schedule B.

Who the Nurses Award doesn’t cover     

The following employers and employees are not covered by the Nurses Award:

  • medical practitioners (for example, doctors)
  • registrars
  • health professionals such as physiotherapists, pastoral carers and health information managers
  • clerical and administration employees
  • nurses employed in a primary or secondary school.

Check the award for full information on coverage and classifications.

Source reference: Nurses Award [MA000034] clauses 3, 4 and schedule B.

Not the right award?

If your industry or work isn’t covered above, you can also check:

Find your pay and entitlements

Pay and entitlements less than the award?

Employees must be paid at least award pay rates and entitlements.

If your pay rates are less than the award, go to Help resolving workplace issues to follow our step by step guide on how you can fix it.

Get help

Need help finding the answers to other questions about the workplace? Get help

Looking for another award?

If you’re looking for award coverage for multiple job roles, start our Find my Award tool again.