Changes to the Architects Award

Banner illustration with icon of scales of justice and text reading, 'Award changes'

Published 1 November 2023

From 1 January 2024, the ‘Prescribed Competencies’ in the Architects Award will be replaced.

What's changing

The Fair Work Commission (the Commission) has issued a decision confirming that the Prescribed Competencies in the Architects Award will be replaced next year. The Commission is the national workplace relations tribunal.

The Prescribed Competencies outline the mandatory experience Graduates of Architecture must demonstrate before they can become registered architects, as set by the Architects Accreditation Council of Australia.

Access the new Prescribed Competencies in the Commission’s final determination. They take effect 1 January 2024.

For Graduates of Architecture who will sit their Architectural Practice Examination after 1 January 2024, the new Prescribed Competencies may apply.

Award resources

In the meantime, access the below resources:

  • Architects Award – the current award, which will be updated from 1 January 2024
  • Architects Award summary – a summary to help work out who the award covers and doesn’t cover
  • decision – the final decision from the Commission confirming the updated Prescribed Competencies.

Keep up to date

To stay up to date and be notified with updates that are relevant to you, subscribe to our email updates. It only takes a few moments to sign up and will help you stay in the loop with changes to workplace laws.

You can also follow us on social media for other announcements and reminders.

Facebook linkTwitter link YouTube link LinkedIn link Instagram link

Related information